Moving is Hard

October 3, 2022

I wasn't expecting how hard it is to pickup and move your whole life. I mean, sure I've done it before, but it was never like this.

I think the really interesting thing is how much *stuff* I have. Like, seriously. There's just boxes of stuff sitting around my office as I write this, and it's like it's all staring at me going, "Where am I going to live, Aspekt?"

I really envy people who are able to avoid emotional attachment to things. I have another friend who got fired, so he got a new job across the country, and he said he's just going to sell everything, even his car, and just buy new when he gets there. It's hard for me to even throw away little pieces of paper like birthday cards and the like.

To be fair, I come from a whole long line of thing-keepers. I don't think it's ever to the point of being like "Hoarders", but I know my grandma and my mom both love to hold onto things. They both do have pretty tidy houses though, so they're at least decent at getting the stuff a home.

So that brings up the idea of giving everything you own a "home". If it doesn't have a home, it has to go. Why this is so difficult, I have no idea. Perhaps it's like the Marie Kondo method where you have to thank your things for their hard work and contribution, and then it gets easier to let go. Who knows.

On the technical side, I think this is the first time I'm using the "Article" HTML tag, so we'll see how that works out for us.